Key Stage 5 Curriculum

Key Stage 5

The Sixth Form plays an important part in St Thomas More Catholic School, providing role models for younger pupils, a feeling of maturity, interest and challenge for their teachers.

For the pupils Sixth Form can be an important stepping stone towards personal and academic fulfilment.

Pupils generally start year 12 following the equivalent of 3 courses. Students can undertake traditional A’ level subjects or vocational subjects, or a mixture of both (timetable permitting).

Pupils can supplement their main studies with Core Mathematics and/or an Extended Project Qualification

 Advanced Level Courses

Art and Design Engineering Further Mathematics
Art and Design – Textiles English Language Music Technology
Biology English Literature Music
Business Studies French Philosophy & Ethics – R.E.
Chemistry German Physical Education
Computer Science Geography Physics
Design Technology:Product Design History Psychology
Drama and Theatre Studies Mathematics


Vocational Courses

Business Studies Engineering
Health and Social Care Sport

At St Thomas More, we recognise the importance of achieving grade 4 GCSE in both maths and English in order to help pupils to progress to further study, training and skilled employment. Therefore a condition of return to study in Sixth form, is that any pupils who have not attained a standard pass in Maths or English or both must continue studying these subjects until such time they successfully achieve the minimum required grade.

More details about the curriculum content and assessment can be found in the sixth form prospectus.

Student also follow a the “Horizons” education programme which covers a variety of activities including…

  • Community service
  • Religious Education
  • Sport & Leisure
  • Post 18 preparation including support in applying to University, applying for jobs, gap years etc.

Long-term plans for Key Stage 5 can be found here.